COUNCIL

At a meeting of the Council on Friday, 21 May 2021 in the Bridge Suite - Halton Stadium, Widnes

Present: Councillors Abbott, Ball, Baker, Begg, Bevan, J. Bradshaw,
M. Bradshaw, Bramwell, D. Cargill, E. Cargill, Carlin, Dennett, Dourley, Dyer,
Fry, Gilligan, Goodall, Harris, S. Hill, V. Hill, Hutchinson, Jones, Leck,
M. Lloyd Jones, P. Lloyd Jones, K. Loftus, Logan, A. Lowe, J. Lowe, McDermott,
A. McInerney, T. McInerney, Nelson, Nolan, Philbin, Polhill, C. Plumpton Walsh,
N. Plumpton Walsh, Ratcliffe, Rowe, G. Stockton, J. Stockton, Stretch, Aimiee
Teeling, Angela Teeling, Thompson, Wall, Wallace, Wharton, Whitley, Woolfall
and Wright

Apologies for Absence: Councillors Howard and Wainwright

Absence declared on Council business: None

Officers present: D. Parr, M. Reaney and G. Ferguson

Also in attendance: One member of the press and members of the public

COU1 ELECTION OF MAYOR AND DEPUTY MAYOR

Action

Moved by Councillor Margaret Ratcliffe and seconded by Councillor Gareth Stockton:-

RESOLVED: That Councillor Christopher Rowe be elected Mayor of the Borough for the Municipal Year 2021/22.

Moved by Councillor Joan Lowe and seconded by Councillor Abbott:-

RESOLVED: That Councillor Mark Dennett be elected Deputy Mayor of the Borough for the Municipal Year 2021/22.

COU2 COUNCIL MINUTES

The minutes of the meeting of Council held on 3 March 2021, having been circulated, were taken as read and signed as a correct record.

COU3 THE MAYOR'S ANNOUNCEMENTS

The Mayor made the following announcements:-

That the Charities he would support during her term of office would be:-

- LOOSE Music; and
- Mind Halton

COU4 MUNICIPAL ELECTION RESULTS 2021/22

Details of the Borough Council elections held on 6 May 2021 were submitted for information.

RESOLVED: That the election results be noted.

COU5 EXECUTIVE BOARD (SELECTION COMMITTEE) 18 MAY 2021

The following results of the Executive Board (Selection Committee) were moved by the Mayor and seconded by the Deputy Mayor.

COU6 LEADER AND DEPUTY LEADER OF THE COUNCIL

RESOLVED: That Councillor Mike Wharton be appointed Leader of the Council for the Municipal Year 2021/22 and Councillor Dave Thompson be appointed Deputy Leader of the Council for the Municipal Year 2021/22.

COU7 BOARDS, COMMITTEES AND PANELS

RESOLVED: That the Boards and Committees be constituted with the membership as shown for the Municipal Year 2021/22:-

Executive Board (10)

Councillors Wharton, (Chair), Dennett, Harris, J. Lowe, M. Lloyd Jones, T. McInerney, Nelson, Nolan, Thompson and Wright.

Health & Wellbeing Board

Councillors Wright (Chair), J. Lowe, T. McInerney and Woolfall.

Corporate Policy and Performance Board (11)

Councillors Gilligan (Chair), Philbin (Vice Chair), Howard, Hutchinson P. Lloyd Jones, A. Lowe, N. Plumpton Walsh, G. Stockton, Angela Teeling, Wainwright and Wall.

Health Policy and Performance Board (11)

Councillors P. Lloyd Jones (Chair), Baker (Vice Chair), Ball, Bevan, D. Cargill, Dourley, Dyer, Goodall, Leck, Ratcliffe and J. Stockton.

Urban Renewal Policy and Performance Board (11)

Councillors Woolfall (Chair), Fry (Vice Chair), Ball, D. Cargill, Dyer, Gilligan, S. Hill, Howard, Logan, McDermott and Stretch.

Employment, Learning, Skills and Community Policy and Performance Board (11)

Councillors Jones (Chair), E. Cargill (Vice Chair), Begg, M. Bradshaw, Dourley, S. Hill, Logan, C. Plumpton Walsh, Stretch, Aimee Teeling and Whitley.

Children, Young People and Families Policy and Performance Board (11)

Councillors Logan (Chair), C. Plumpton Walsh (Vice Chair), Abbott, Bramwell, Carlin, Goodall, V. Hill, Jones, Loftus, Ratcliffe, and Aimee Teeling.

Safer Policy and Performance Board (11)

Councillors N. Plumpton Walsh (Chair), V. Hill (Vice Chair) Baker, Begg, Bevan, Bramwell, Carlin, Loftus, A. McInerney, Ratcliffe and Wall.

Development Management Committee (11)

Councillors S. Hill (Chair), Leck (Vice Chair), Abbott, J. Bradshaw, Carlin, Hutchinson, A. Lowe, Philbin, Polhill, J. Stockton and Thompson.

Audit and Governance Board (11)

Councillors Polhill (Chair), A. Lowe (Vice Chair), J. Bradshaw, E. Cargill, Jones, McDermott, Philbin, J. Stockton, Wallace, Wall and Whitley.

Regulatory Committee (11)

Councillors Wallace (Chair), Abbott (Vice-Chair), D. Cargill, Dourley, Fry, K. Loftus, A. McInerney, G. Stockton, Angela Teeling, Wainwright and Woolfall.

Mayoral Committee (5)

Councillors Rowe, Gilligan, T. McInerney, Philbin and Wright.

Appointments Committee (6)

Councillors Wharton (Leader), Thompson (Deputy Leader), Dennett (or another portfolio holder as selected by Leader), McDermott (or a Chair of a PPB, selected by Leader), Ratcliffe and J. Bradshaw.

COU8 APPOINTMENT OF SCRUTINY CO-ORDINATOR

RESOLVED: That Councillor Tony McDermott be appointed Scrutiny Co-ordinator for the Municipal Year 2021/22.

COU9 APPOINTMENT OF CO-OPTEES & INDEPENDENT PERSONS

RESOLVED: That the following appointments be confirmed:

- The re-appointment of Mr David Wilson as the Healthwatch Halton representative and non-voting Co-optee to the Health Policy and Performance Board for the Municipal Year 2021/22;
- The re-appointment of Reverend David Felix as nonvoting Parish Council Co-optee and the reappointment of Mr Tony Luxton as non-voting Independent Co-optee on the Standards Committee for the Municipal Year 2021/22; and
- Professor David Norman and Mrs Diane Howard be re-appointed as Independent Persons for the purposes of the Localism Act 2011, for a further period of 4 years".

COU10 APPOINTMENT TO OUTSIDE BODIES

The Council considered a report of the Strategic Director, Enterprise, Community and Resources, regarding the appointment of Members to serve on various Outside Bodies. A document was tabled showing the recommendations put forward.

RESOLVED: That representatives be appointed to Outside Bodies in accordance with the tabled document.

COU11 EXECUTIVE BOARD PORTFOLIOS

The Leader confirmed that the Executive Board would consist of the following Portfolio holders for the Municipal Year 2021/2022

Leader – Overall Leadership and Corporate Strategy, Communications and Liverpool City Region matters – Councillor Wharton

Deputy Leader – Leadership on Cheshire Sub-Regional matters and Major Projects – Councillor Thompson

Corporate Services Portfolio – Councillor Dennett

Children and Young People Portfolio – Councillor Tom McInerney

Adult Social Care Portfolio – Councillor Joan Lowe

Health and Wellbeing Portfolio Holder – Councillor Wright

Community Safety Portfolio Holder – Councillor M. Lloyd Jones

Environmental & Urban Renewal Portfolio Holder – Councillor Nelson

Employment, Learning & Skills and Community Portfolio – Councillor Nolan

Climate Change Portfolio Holder – Councillor Harris

RESOLVED: That the Portfolios be noted.

COU12 UPDATES TO COUNCIL CONSTITUTION 2021

Executive Board had considered a report of the Strategic Director, Enterprise, Community and Resources, which sought approval of a number of changes to the Council's Constitution.

RESOLVED: That Council approve the revised Constitution, including the matters set out in Appendix 1, attached to the report.

Meeting ended at 7.00 p.m.